May Day by F. Scott Fitzgerald

May Day is a short story published in Smart Set in 1920, F. Scott Fitzgerald uses the May Day Riots of 1919 as the historical backdrop for the story.

The story features three plot lines (Sterrett’s troubles, the events at the newspaper office, and the story of Keys and Rose) with characters that meet and separate in New York. The characters weave in and out of each other’s lives so seamlessly with each chapter effortlessly leading onto the next with no question being brought up about the temporarily inactive characters. It ended as you might expect, but it was not over or under stated. I’ve never read a story like this, with the intertwining plots, so I was unaware of how well it could be done.

Fitzgerald’s writing style enables you to quickly understand a character personality through the was they are described and how other character interact with them. Like with Fitzgerald’s other characters I never cared for them much but I wanted to know what happened to them.

I found this to be an enjoyable read with the interaction between classes is an interesting point in May Day. I am looking forward to reading more of Fitzgerald’s works as I am currently reading my way through Fitzgerald’s short stories. Currently I am on The Diamond as Big as the Ritz

Leave a Reply

