The Best TV of 2013 [Part 1]

One of my favourite pastimes is watching TV, I love the feeling of being engrossed in a story so here I have made a list of what programmes did and did not capture my interest this year.

There may be a few spoilers so be warned.

Firstly I would like to say that The Day of The Doctor is near… In fact this Saturday.

Day of the DoctorImage credit [x]

Doctor Who fans or Who-vians will be glad as the 50th anniversary special episode of Doctor Who will be aired revealing more about the mysterious Doctor and his past/future. I for one can’t wait. I have even enjoyed the droplets of information and rumours that have been spreading on the internet and the Twittersphere.

This year saw Matt Smith announcing is retirement as The Doctor but not after a series finale that ended on a cliff hanger. Shortly after Peter Capaldi was revealed to be 12th Doctor and after a little break trailers and sneak peeks have been used to build up the anticipation for the grand 50th anniversary.  The BBC has never had so many Doctor Who themed programmes and I think I may have watched them all…

I hope this Saturday is amazing…

Last month saw the last of the much anticipated Poriot series; the final four episodes ended with Hercule Poriot and Captain Hastings working together on one last time before the inevitable demise of the much loved Belgian Sleuth.

Hercule PoirotImage credit [x]

I have been watching this series for a few years now and have been known to repeat watch certain episodes; so to find out that it was to be concluded was great news for me. Saying this a few episodes could’ve been better but overall the series ended in a satisfactory fashion.

The Escape Artist was quite possibly the best crime drama I watched (Sorry Poriot..) Its protagonist is Will Burton, played by David Tennant, a junior barrister who is known for getting his clients out of tight spots, but after setting free the man who later kills his wife justice must be served.

David Tennant in The Escape ArtistImage credit [x]

David Tennant was brilliant to say the least and I loved the story line though others thought it ridiculous. The intensity was gripping and I wanted to know every little detail; sadly some details were left unexplained, however as it three part drama there was a limit in what to put in and what to leave out.

Peaky Blinders BBC DramaImage credit [x]

To finish off the first part of this overview I would like to write about Peaky Blinders. It is a family gangster drama based in Birmingham, 1919, after the First World War. Tommy Shelby, played by Cillian Murphy, and his family get into a fair bit of trouble with their illegal betting company. The drama was enjoyable and I looked forward to every episode as well as that the filming and cinematography was beautiful.

The ending was decent and a few characters could have been developed more, especially Grace but otherwise a great series. I think this series works best as a stand alone series so I do not expect a second series, otherwise it may turn into Downtown Abbey…

Part two coming soon~

You might also like:
Colour Pallete 03 {Dr Who Special}
Cat x Doctor Who

– – – – –

@missmarwakhalil
WhatTheCute.etsy.com

Leave a Reply

